No more defection from APC governors – Okorocha

apc governors and buhari
APC Governors in a meeting with President Buhari on Wednesday

The Chairman of APC Governors Forum and Imo State Governor Rochas Okorocha has said the remaining governors of the All Progressives Congress, APC, will not dump the party.

Okorocha made the statement after the APC governors met with President Muhammadu Buhari at the Presidential Villa in Abuja.

Speaking with journalists, the Imo state governor said, the party has become stronger and more united even though they lost three governors to the opposition. Adding that, their defection did not come as a surprise.

Present at the meeting was the Chief of Staff to the President, Abba Kyari, and the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, SGF, Boss Mustapha.

Others present include the APC governors, led by the party National Chairman, Adams Oshiomhole.

The governors are: Abiola Ajimobi (Oyo), Nasir El-Rufai (Kaduna), Ibikunle Amosun (Ogun) and Aminu Masari (Katsina).

Others are Mohammed Abubakar (Jigawa), Akinwunmi Ambode (Lagos), Abdullahi Ganduje (Kano), Yahaya Bello (Kogi), Simon Lalung (Plateau), Tanko Al-Makura (Nasarawa), Kashim Shettima (Borno), and Atiku Bagudu (Kebbi).

However,  four governors were absent. They are: Abdul’Aziz Yari (Zamfara), Rotimi Akeredolu (Ondo), Godwin Obaseki (Edo), and Mohammed Abubakar (Bauchi).

Share This Story

Facebook Comments